22 C
Byron Shire
May 14, 2021

Tweed poll draws 59 candidates

Latest News

Bluesfest announces October dates for 2021 festival

After two disappointing cancelations of their event, Bluesfest has announced that they will hold the 2021 festival over the...

Other News

Cocaine bust in Byron Shire, 7 men arrested

Police say two separate investigations into the ongoing supply of cocaine in the Byron Bay area have led to charges against seven men.

Exotic and hybrid

Dailan Pugh, Byron Bay I was shocked to see the abundant exotic and hybrid plantings at Byron’s new bus interchange. As...

Father and son win first sailing race

Sixteen boats competed in the Tweed Valley Sailing Club’s race day earlier this month in a 10-12 knot breeze that suited newcomers to the sport well.

Police chase ends in head-on car and truck crash

Police have declared a critical incident investigation after a car chase in Ballina ended in a crash Friday night.

Linnaeus Estate DA raises concerns for residents

Community concern over the current development application (DA: 10.2021.170.1) for Linnaeus Estate in Broken Head has led to detailed analysis of the DA.

Cringe worthy PM

Keith Duncan, Pimlico After cringing at the spectacle of Scott Morrison blatantly lying to President Biden during that virtual climate...

Luis Feliu

The month-long campaign for the hotly contested seven councillor seats up for grabs on Tweed Shire Council officially kicked off yesterday with 59 people standing, 55 of them in 12 groups.

As with the past several Tweed elections, the groups involve community/environment groups or candidates on one side, and the conservative/business-lobby candidates on the other, each hoping for a strong voice on council for the next four years.

Allegiances of each group and individuals should be made clearer as the campaign progresses.

Nominations for the September 8 local-government elections closed at noon yesterday and a draw was conducted several hours later by Tweed Shire’s returning officer Len Sparreboom to determine positions on the ballot paper.

Candidates affiliated with the Greens, Labor and National parties are grouped in various teams or tickets, while most have identified themselves as ‘independent’.

The all-important draw for position on the ballot at the NSW Electoral Commission offices in Tweed Heads was witnessed by around a dozen candidates.

Six of the seven current councillors have nominated to be re-elected.

Many on the list of candidates don’t have high public profiles and are entering politics for the first time, while others have been involved in ratepayer/community groups or local business.

The groups in order that they’ll appear on the ballot paper after yesterday’s draw are:

Group A – headed by Kaye Sharples, of Tweed Heads, with John Zahn, Mel Naylor and Paul Milner

Group B – headed by Warren Polglase, of Kingscliff, with Stuart Cahill, Bill Larkin and Karen Embrey

Group C – headed by Jayne Henry, of Kingscliff, with Kerry Turner, Nicole Schiller, Kevin Skinner and Rhiannon Brinsmead

Group D – (Tweed Valley Nationals) headed by Phil Youngblutt, of Fernvale, with Katherine Butterworth, Anthony Dupuis, Robert Hawken and Bruce Weston

Group E – headed Barry Longland with Cath Lynch, Andrew Meeves, Ron Cooper and Bill Rowe

Group F – headed by Carolyn Byrne, of Kingscliff, with Angela Adams, Brian Lewis and Julie West

Group G – Country Labor, headed by Michael Armstrong, of Bilambil Heights, with Reece Byrnes, Marion Gardner and Fred Hewison

Group H – The Greens, headed by Katie Milne, of Carool, with Joanna Gardner, Kirsten Ealand, Andrea Vickers and Mick Munday

Group I – headed by Bruce Campbell, of Cobaki, with Linton Alford, Lindsay Saunders and Rob Kinneally

Group J – headed by Dot Holdom, of Kingscliff, with Mandy Luff, Doreen Welsh, Una Cowdroy and Sam Fien

Group K – headed by Eddie Roberts, of Uki, with Scott Sledge, Tim O’Hara and Tracey Stride

Group L – headed by Gary Bagnall, of Murwillumbah, with Jenny Hayes, Anni Brownjohn, Stephanie McKittrick and Carolyn Pickering.

The ungrouped nominees in the order they’ll appear on the ballot paper are: 1 – Chris Cherry; 2 – Russell Kilarney; 3 – Russell Logan; 4 – Lindy Smith.

Mr Sparreboom told Echonetdaily that while there were many candidates, it was not a record, as when the Tweed had nine councillors, many more people nominated.


For further info check the electoral commission website: www.votensw.info.

Support The Echo

Keeping the community together and the community voice loud and clear is what The Echo is about. More than ever we need your help to keep this voice alive and thriving in the community.

Like all businesses we are struggling to keep food on the table of all our local and hard working journalists, artists, sales, delivery and drudges who keep the news coming out to you both in the newspaper and online. If you can spare a few dollars a week – or maybe more – we would appreciate all the support you are able to give to keep the voice of independent, local journalism alive.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Power outage in Byron Shire

Power supply company Essential Energy says that approximately 1,780 homes and businesses were without supply this morning.

Filming of Byron Baes begins with no indigenous consultation

Filming of the Netflix series Byron Baes has reportedly commenced without any effort made by the show's production company – Eureka Productions – to consult with local indigenous groups or the local Council.

Byron Comedy Festival launched with a laugh

At a hilarious sold-out launch of the Byron Comedy Festival, Dr Karl Kruszelnicki had the entire Byron Bay Surf Club giggling last night

School Strike for Climate next Friday

Next Friday from 10am Byron Shire students will be demanding political action on the climate emergency in what they and their supporters say is our present, future and reality.