Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore named NSW Surf Club of the Year

The Far North Coast has received top honours at the annual Surf Life Saving NSW Awards of Excellence proudly presented by Stramit Building Products in Sydney on Saturday, taking out both Surf Club and Lifeguard of the Year.

The Awards of Excellence acknowledge surf lifesavers from throughout NSW who have performed invaluable public service as lifesavers, lifeguards, administrators or trainers within the community.

The prestigious Club of the Year award was taken out by Ballina Lighthouse & Lismore SLSC. The club has shown excellent development and growth across a range of areas including membership, administration, compliance, education and governance.

The club has managed all this while handling the move into a new clubhouse this season. From operating out of shipping containers the club has demonstrated their commitment to enhanced service provision, strong administration and engagement to manage through this time and excel in key areas.

Past President Kris Beavis accepted the award on behalf of the club.

‘This is a great honour for us, we’re just a small country club and this has been the first season in a long while not patrolling out of shipping containers’, said Mr Beavis.

‘Opening our new clubhouse has been a huge milestone and now we can focus on improving our club even further in areas of governance and youth retention.’

Byron Bay lifeguard, Steve Mills, was also recognised as the NSW Lifeguard of the Year. Steve has been a lifeguard with the Australian Lifeguard Service for 17 years contributing 4421 hours.

Steve is a professional and passionate lifeguard at Byron Bay’s Main Beach. During the 2013-14 season, Steve assisted with two successful CPRs. He is dedicated to educating the community about water safety and has done to thousands of Byron Bay visitors over the years.

More than 280 of Surf Life Saving’s most outstanding lifesavers, athletes, coaches and administrators gathered to celebrate the enormous contribution of volunteers and clubs from across NSW for the 2014 SLSNSW Awards of Excellence proudly presented by Stramit Building Products.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Become a supporter of The Echo

A note from the editorial team

Some of The Echo’s editorial team: journalists Paul Bibby and Aslan Shand, editor Hans Lovejoy, photographer Jeff Dawson and Mandy Nolan

The Echo has never underestimated the intelligence and passion of its readers. In a world of corporate banality and predictability, The Echo has worked hard for more than 30 years to help keep Byron and the north coast unique with quality local journalism and creative ideas. We think this area needs more voices, reasoned analysis and ideas than just those provided by News Corp, lifestyle mags, Facebook groups and corporate newsletters.

The Echo is one hundred per cent locally owned and one hundred per cent independent. As you have probably gathered from what is happening in the media industry, it is not cheap to produce a weekly newspaper and a daily online news service of any quality.

We have always relied entirely on advertising to fund our operations, but often loyal readers who value our local, independent journalism have asked how they could help ensure our survival.

Any support you can provide to The Echo will make an enormous difference. You can make a one-off contribution or a monthly one. With your help, we can continue to support a better informed local community and a healthier democracy for another 30 years.”

Echonetdaily is made possible by the support of all of our advertisers.