Foley announces shadow ministry reshuffle

Sydney [AAP]

NSW opposition leader Luke Foley has announced a revamped shadow cabinet nearly two weeks after losing the 2015 state election.

Mr Foley announced the shadow cabinet reshuffle on Thursday morning, saying the overhauled team would include 17 shadow ministers.

In the new-look team, Labor’s deputy leader, Linda Burney, takes over education while Keira MP Ryan Park takes on the transport and infrastructure portfolio, as well as continuing as Illawarra spokesman.

Maroubra MP Michael Daley continues as shadow treasurer, and Upper House MP and shadow north coast minister Walt Secord retains the health portfolio.

Mr Secord, who was was also elected yesterday as deputy opposition leader in the NSW Legislative Council (NSW Parliament’s Upper House) immediately went on the attack yesterday, slamming the coalition’s decision on April 1 to scrap the north coast and other regional portfolios from cabinet.

‘The regional ministers have been replaced with mere parliamentary secretaries – rather than full cabinet ministers. This bad decision means that the key regions outside of Sydney will no longer have a voice around the Cabinet table,’ Mr Secord (pictured) told media.

‘But the biggest slap goes to Tweed MP Geoff Provest, who lost his parliamentary secretary spot,’ he said.

Seeking an apology for 'insulted' health workers: ALP shadow health minister Walt Secord. Photo AAP Image/Mark Graham

Seeking an apology for ‘insulted’ health workers: ALP shadow health minister Walt Secord. Photo AAP Image/Mark Graham

‘The Liberals and Nationals have lost total faith in Geoff Provest and reflect that the majority of residents in Tweed cast their first preference vote for a candidate other than Geoff Provest and the Nationals.

‘And the swing of around 20 per cent against him was one of the biggest in the entire state.’

Penny Sharpe, who was defeated as Labor candidate for Newtown, will become Labor’s spokeswoman for planning, the environment and heritage, if she’s endorsed for a vacant seat in the Legislative Council.

Strathfield MP, Jodi McKay, picks up the shadow portfolios of police as well as roads, maritime and freight.

Wyong MP David Harris enters the shadow cabinet as spokesman for regional development, skills and small business.

Charlestown MP Jodie Harrison and Cessnock MP Clayton Barr will also join the shadow cabinet.

Upper House MP Adam Searle, Liverpool MP Paul Lynch, Bankstown MP Tania Mihailuk, Upper House MP Sophie Cotsis, Fairfield MP Guy Zangari and Upper House MP Mick Veitch round out the team.

Heffron MP Ron Hoenig and Wallsend MP Sonia Hornery have been dropped from the shadow ministry.

The reshuffle comes nearly two weeks after Labor was defeated by the NSW coalition at the March 28 state election.

One response to “Foley announces shadow ministry reshuffle”

  1. We call on Walt Secord as renewed NSW Shadow Health MP to support our call for concurrent smokefree outdoor drinking as well as dining when the delayed outdoor legislation starts in July this year. The coalition and ClubsNSW have no right to delay health regulations when we all know that secondhand smoke adversely affects workers and patrons and that smokers influence others to smoke quitters to regress, especially in drinking situations. We also call on Mr. Secord and the ALP to support families in multi-unit housing (public, strata, retirement) battling against toxic smoke seepage and smoke drift from smoking neighbours. Smokers’ rights stop at their lips.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Echonetdaily is made possible by the support of all of our advertisers and is brought to you by this week's sponsors Vast Interior Ballina and NORPA.