Awards celebrate outstanding achievement in public education

Murwillumbah High School. Photo Google Maps.

Last week honours were awarded to 120 individuals and schools for outstanding student achievement and inspiring public education staff and parents in the 2020 NSW Minister’s and Secretary’s Awards for Excellence.

NSW Minister’s and Secretary’s Awards for Excellence showcase NSW public school students, staff and parents who have made major contributions to their education communities and serve as role models to their peers.

They also acknowledge schools that have embraced innovative programs to improve student wellbeing and academic results and are changing the way education is delivered within the government system.

The award recipients, from right across NSW, were selected for the Minister’s Award for Excellence in Student Achievement; Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching; Secretary’s Award for Excellent Service; Secretary’s Award for an Outstanding School Initiative; Secretary’s School Achievement Award, and; Public School Parent of the Year.

Murwillumbah High School awarded five honours

Locally, Murwillumbah High School were the recipient of five awards in the category of Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. Teachers

Candice Morris-Grant, Conie Sinnott, Dion Hobbins and Nick Forrester were all honoured for their contribution to education and the school received and award for Collaborative Leadership & Learning.

The NSW Minister for Education and Early Childhood Learning, Sarah Mitchell, said the awards affirmed the high standards, dedication and community connections in the public education system.

‘These awards highlight the tremendous contribution that students, teachers, support staff, principals and the school community make to public education in NSW as we strive for learning and teaching excellence,’ she said.

Department of Education Secretary Mark Scott said it was timely to celebrate the range of achievements in a difficult year for schools, staff and students. ‘This year’s recipients showed the remarkable flexibility and resourcefulness in our school communities when faced with the learning challenges of COVID-19,’ he said.

‘Many of these schools and teachers have used their significant knowledge of education in their communities to lift their school standards and recognise all students as their own learners.’

Public Education Foundation executive director David Hetherington said the foundation was proud to host the awards on behalf of Education Minister Sarah Mitchell and Department Secretary Mark Scott. ‘The awards are always a highlight of the education calendar, showcasing the extraordinary talent across NSW public education, which has been on display more than ever in this unusual year,’ said Mr Hetherington

Support The Echo

Keeping the community together and the community voice loud and clear is what The Echo is about. More than ever we need your help to keep this voice alive and thriving in the community.

Like all businesses we are struggling to keep food on the table of all our local and hard working journalists, artists, sales, delivery and drudges who keep the news coming out to you both in the newspaper and online. If you can spare a few dollars a week – or maybe more – we would appreciate all the support you are able to give to keep the voice of independent, local journalism alive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Echonetdaily is made possible by the support of all of our advertisers and is brought to you by this week's sponsors, the Byron Residents' Group and Byron Community College.