Nothing fishy going on…
Is there isinglass in your wine glass or egg white in your red? Did you know that not all alcohol is vegan?
’But it’s made from grapes!’ I hear you say…
Isinglass is a substance obtained from the dried swim bladders of fish – who knew? It is a form of collagen used mainly for the clarification or fining of some beer and wine.
It can also be cooked into a paste for specialised gluing purposes – just yick!
And eggs! A solution of egg whites can be used to remove phenolic compounds associated with harsh astringency in red wines, as the protein binds with the larger polymeric material in the wine. The fining leads to a softening and improved suppleness in the wine.
That’s right people – and I suppose if you add things that kill insects on hop and wine crops, then even the vegan wines and beers might be tipping the scales towards being omnivorous, but you can only try your hardest.
The good news is, many annoying vegans are also alcohol loving earthlings and pressure on bottle shops and wine clubs to stock vegan friendly drinks is doing its job, and now most outlets have at least one vegan option.
So this New Year’s Eve you can eat and drink and be a merry vegan.
Signed, The Annoying Vegan.