Music festival being planned for Lismore

Wild Marmalade is on the drawcards for the inaugural Lismore Music Festival. (file pic)

Wild Marmalade is one of the drawcards for the inaugural Lismore Music Festival. (file pic)

A music festival featuring up to 50 acts across six stages is being planned for Lismore.

The Lismore Music Festival, which will coincide with the popular Eat the Street promotion in Lismore’s CBD, will be held on the 10th and 11th of March, 2017.

Organisers Scott Cooper and Paul Connelly said the festival would feature a range of artists, covering genres ranging from punk to country, hillbilly, rock, pop and urban.

The pair have today released the first instalment of local and out-of-town acts that will appear over the two days, with more acts set to be announced.

Local acts include Blakboi, TLK, Humans of Lismore, Mocri$, Brotherhood of the Blues, Jimmy Willing, featuring the Buffalo Girls and Bertie Page, Wet Cement, Two Tears in a Bucket, Button Collective, The Antibodies, Black Ghost Party, Bill Jacobi, The Linelockers, Greenswood, The Real Jarrah, Feel Good Factory, Round Mountain Girls, Hussy Hicks, Lush, The Young Murphys, Riley Fitzsimmons, Jex Lopez and others.

The out-of-town acts so far include Wild Marmalade, King Tide, Mick Daley and the Corporate Raders, Beefweek Girls with Knives, A Somerset Parade, Alla Spina, Tokyo Beef, The Neptune Power, Federation, Dean Lombard (Melbourne), Tim Hullsman (Geelong), The Dirty Liars, Make More (Brisbane), Spook Hill (Brisbane) and Collision.

The two-day festival will take place at a number of venues around town, with an all-ages, alcohol free stage set up in Spinks Park.

With only 1000 two-day tickets for sale, the early bird release will see 250 tickets available half price to purchase from the festival’s Facebook page for $100.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Become a supporter of The Echo

A note from the editorial team

Some of The Echo’s editorial team: journalists Paul Bibby and Aslan Shand, editor Hans Lovejoy, photographer Jeff Dawson and Mandy Nolan

The Echo has never underestimated the intelligence and passion of its readers. In a world of corporate banality and predictability, The Echo has worked hard for more than 30 years to help keep Byron and the north coast unique with quality local journalism and creative ideas. We think this area needs more voices, reasoned analysis and ideas than just those provided by News Corp, lifestyle mags, Facebook groups and corporate newsletters.

The Echo is one hundred per cent locally owned and one hundred per cent independent. As you have probably gathered from what is happening in the media industry, it is not cheap to produce a weekly newspaper and a daily online news service of any quality.

We have always relied entirely on advertising to fund our operations, but often loyal readers who value our local, independent journalism have asked how they could help ensure our survival.

Any support you can provide to The Echo will make an enormous difference. You can make a one-off contribution or a monthly one. With your help, we can continue to support a better informed local community and a healthier democracy for another 30 years.”

Echonetdaily is made possible by the support of all of our advertisers and is brought to you by this week's sponsor Vast Furniture & Homewares Ballina.