22.8 C
Byron Shire
January 21, 2022

Winners of the Ballina Shire Council elections announced

Latest News

NSW COVID update on COVID deaths – vax stats and comorbidities

NSW Premier Dominic Perrottet again opened his COVID update with condolences to families who have lost loved ones, and thanks to the  ‘inspirational work of our health workers'.

Other News

NSW COVID update on COVID deaths – vax stats and comorbidities

NSW Premier Dominic Perrottet again opened his COVID update with condolences to families who have lost loved ones, and thanks to the  ‘inspirational work of our health workers'.

Bioenergy precaution

The notion of ‘Green Energy’ has recently excited business investors and no doubt the public. We need positive solutions...

Spice Palace: Fresh, local and made from scratch

Rob Cullinan and Duska Jefed are the couple behind Spice Palace. They lovingly make dips, tapenade, dukkah, harissa, chilli...

No supply shortage at Byron Farmers Market!

While supermarket shelves around the country are running bare, there’s no shortage of fresh produce at our local farmers’...

It is The Byron Shire Quiz!

It is The Byron Shire Quiz!  How much do you think you know about the Byron Shire? Ross Kendall challenges you to...

Localisation shines as supply chains weaken

While Coles and Woolworths struggle with supply chain issues caused by the Omicron outbreak, local farmer’s markets and independent food retailers appear to be coming into their own.

Greens Simon Chate and Kiri Dicker with Mayor Sharon Cadwallader, Eva Ramsey, and Steve McCarthy. Photo Aslan Shand

Ballina Shire Council for the upcoming two years has now been determined with no Labor candidates getting elected and three of recently elected Mayor Sharon Cadwallader’s team members being elected.

Ballina Shire election results for Ward A. Photo Aslan Shand

Ward A

Ward A was the first to be revealed which saw sitting councillor Phil Meehan, along with Rod Bruem and Steve McCarthy from Ms Cadwalladers team elected.

‘I’m surprised because I didn’t have any preference votes,’ Mr McCarthy told The Echo.

‘I saw the start of Barlows Road in my last term and I hope to see Barlows Road finished in this one.’

Ballina Shire election results for Ward B. Photo Aslan Shand

Ward B

Ballina’s Ward B which includes Lennox Head, Skenners Head and East Ballina saw former Independent councillor Jeff Johnson elected along with Eva Ramsey from Mayor Sharon Cadwallader’s team and Greens candidate Kiri Dicker.

‘The people of Ballina Shire want a council that is a leader in environmental sustainability and climate change action,’ said Ms Dicker who also ran ten years ago.

‘We need more recognition for our local indigenous people. I congratulate Sharon on her election as Mayor and look forward to working as a team on council. I was disappointed that my success came at the cost of Keith Williams not getting re-elected but I look forward to his mentorship.’

Ms Ramsey told The Echo that she is ‘really proud to represent our shire and thank you to everyone who voted for me.’

Ballina Shire election results for Ward C. Photo Aslan Shand

Ward C

Ward C which takes in East Wardell, Dalwood, Alstonville, Wollongbar and Teven elected Eion Johnston, Greens Simon Chate, and Nigel Buchanna elected.

‘I am keen to set up a table once a month in Ward C to create the opportunity to talk to the people of Ward C,’ Mr Chate told The Echo.

‘I want to make myself available to the people of Ward C. I am really looking forward working with the elected council during this term.’

Support The Echo

Keeping the community together and the community voice loud and clear is what The Echo is about. More than ever we need your help to keep this voice alive and thriving in the community.

Like all businesses we are struggling to keep food on the table of all our local and hard working journalists, artists, sales, delivery and drudges who keep the news coming out to you both in the newspaper and online. If you can spare a few dollars a week – or maybe more – we would appreciate all the support you are able to give to keep the voice of independent, local journalism alive.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

January 21 National Cabinet on Omicron, RATs, vax and treatments

Prime Minister Scott Morrison has issued a media release about yesterday's meeting of the National Cabinet.

Reform needed to deliver electric trucks in Australia

With the aim of getting more electric-powered trucks on Australian roads, the Electric Vehicle Council and the Australian Trucking Association have collaborated to develop the policies necessary to drive Australian trucking into an electric future.

Biz step up to feed frontline staff

Local paramedics will be able to get free coffee and snacks at selected local cafes, as part of a major community effort to support frontline health workers during the ongoing and increasing COVID-19 outbreak.

Casino’s winning tap water ways

Yesterday Casino was announced as the winner of the Water Industry Operators Association of Australia’s Ixom 2021 Best Tasting Tap Water in Australia competition.