25.1 C
Byron Shire
May 10, 2021

Ballina electorate overview

Latest News

Deep listening and housing ideas under Mullum’s fig trees for Renew Fest

Around a hundred presenters, musicians, other artists and community activators plus a bumper crowd of punters all came together under the fig trees at the Mullumbimby Showground over the weekend for Renew Fest 2021.

Other News

Board defends its management of Mullum Rural Co-op

The issue of potential fraud and financial mismanagement was a key part of the response from Mullumbimby Rural Co-op...

Is hydrogen part of a sustainable energy future?

There’s a lot to like about hydrogen. For starters, it’s abundant. Hydrogen can store excess renewable power. When liquified, it’s more energy intense than fossil alternatives. In a fuel cell, it can generate electricity. When it’s burned, the only by-product is water.

Belongi Spit

John Lazarus, Byron Bay An update on proposed development of the Belongil Spit site, for the information particularly of those...

Respect for Country

Léandra Martiniello, Whian Whian It is the night of the full moon, I have just watched it rise. On the...

Police chase ends in head-on car and truck crash

Police have declared a critical incident investigation after a car chase in Ballina ended in a crash Friday night.

Jonson Street bus shelter gone and an era ended

Byron Shire Council says that the wooden bus shelter on Jonson Street outside the Byron Visitors Centre is being removed today with all bus services operating from the new bus interchange on Butler Street in Byron Bay

The current electorate of Ballina following the 2013 redistribution. Source Electoral Commission NSW
The current electorate of Ballina following the 2013 redistribution. Source Electoral Commission NSW

One of the strangest facts about the state seat of Ballina is that it has only had two incumbents since 1894. Read on to find out how…

The lineup

Despite outgoing Nationals member Don Page sitting on  a margin of more than 20 per cent, the ABC’s election analyst Antony Green says his would-be replacement Kris Beavis has a battle on his hands to retain the seat for the Nats.

Mr Green says changing preferences could see the ALP win up to three north coast seats – Lismore, Tweed and Ballina – but there are particular issues facing Mr Beavis in Ballina.

Over the years Mr Page built up a remarkable personal following, seeing him elected with 57 per cent of the primary vote in 2011, followed by the Greens’ Simon Richardson on 21.7 per cent and Labor’s Toby Warnes on 11.9 per cent.

It is hard to see a replacement with no political experience and very little local exposure picking up all of these votes.

The media-shy Mr Beavis was locked in a preselection battle for the seat with popular Ballina councillor Sharon Cadwallader, leading many women voters to deride the Nationals’ preselection process as a ‘boys’ club’.

Another significant factor in this seat is local opposition to CSG, which has seen the Nationals defending their decision to renew Dart Energy’s PEL 445 in the region by issuing a leaflet saying they had removed the threat from the Ballina electorate. (Dart relinquished 25 per cent of its licence when it was renewed last year, most of it in Ballina and Byron shires.)

All of the remaining candidates  oppose CSG across the entire northern rivers region, with the Greens and independent Jeff Johnson calling for a statewide moratorium on CSG development.

Of the other candidates facing off against Mr Beavis for the seat, the ALP’s Paul Spooner is a Byron councillor and longstanding GM of the Byron Bay Community Centre, and independent candidate Jeff Johnson is a Ballina councillor.

Johnson, a longtime Greens member and CSG campaigner, split with the party after losing preselection to Tamara Smith, a solicitor with a background in energy law, social justice and human rights issues.

Also jousting for the seat are independent candidate Matthew Hartley and Vyvyan Stott from the Christian Democratic Party. Angela Pollard from The Animal Rights Party has withdrawn.

History of the Ballina electorate

The Ballina electorate was first formed in 1894, when NSW was still a colony.

The previous colonial seat of Richmond, which had three incumbents, was subdivided into the (then) three seats of Lismore, Ballina and Richmond.

The first person elected to the seat of Ballina was John Perry, who held it as a member of the Protectionist Party, from 1894 up until Federation in 1901. (While it may seem like a strange name for a party in our neo-con present, Australia’s first two PMs, Edmund Barton and Alfred Deakin, were prominent Protectionists.)

In 1901 Perry was elected to the first state house as a member of the closely related Progressive Party.

In 1904, Ballina morphed into the seat of Byron, which was to remain its name right up until 1988.

John Perry, first NSW MP for the seat of Ballina.

Switching horses to the Liberal Reform Party in 1913 and again to the Nationalist Party in 1917, Perry managed to hang onto the seat of Byron right up until 1920.

The seat was again merged to create a three-member (proportional representation) electorate from 1920-27. It was during this short period that Labor had its sole incumbency in Byron, for a total of just four years.

From 1927 to 1988, when it was abolished, all the state representatives were of Country/National persuasion.

In 1988 the seat of Byron was split into Ballina and Murwillumbah (later Tweed), with the incumbent MP Don Beck representing the new Murwillumbah electorate.

Outgoing Ballina MP Don Page.
Outgoing Ballina MP Don Page.

Don Page was elected as the MP for Ballina when the seat was re-created and has remained in the position ever since.

At the 2004 redistribution, an anomaly was created whereby some rural parts of Byron Shire were represented by Lismore MP Thomas George, even though they’re not easily accessible from Lismore.

Following the latest redistribution in 2013, the electorate will include all of Byron and Ballina shires.

Support The Echo

Keeping the community together and the community voice loud and clear is what The Echo is about. More than ever we need your help to keep this voice alive and thriving in the community.

Like all businesses we are struggling to keep food on the table of all our local and hard working journalists, artists, sales, delivery and drudges who keep the news coming out to you both in the newspaper and online. If you can spare a few dollars a week – or maybe more – we would appreciate all the support you are able to give to keep the voice of independent, local journalism alive.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Eating vegan is no longer like Mac Vs PC

Remember back in the bad old days when you used either a PC or Mac? Those were your choices, and never the twain could meet. They were so many miles apart in operations that they were like different countries with different languages and appearances

‘Endless land releases’ not the solution for Byron’s housing crisis, says Labor mayor hopeful

Northern Rivers-based trade unionist and MBA student Asren Pugh has announced his candidature for Byron Shire Mayor in September’s local government elections on behalf of Country Labor. 

Global predicament

Dudley Leggett – Director of Sustainability Research Institute, Suffolk Park Phillip Frazer’s article, (Echo 6 January) is an excellent summary of our global predicament, and a...

How full is that glass?

Cr Alan Hunter, Byron Shire Council Council Staff recommend opposing the proposed changes in the Exempt Development provisions to be considered in this week’s Council Ordinary meeting. The...