Luke Foley unveils new-look shadow cabinet

NSW Opposition leader Luke Foley

NSW Opposition leader Luke Foley

NSW Opposition leader Luke Foley has promoted a host of MPs from the class of 2015 into Labor’s shadow cabinet.

Jihad Dib, Prue Car, Yasmin Catley, Jenny Aitchison and Chris Minns will join Kate Washington on Labor’s front bench having all been elected to the Parliament in 2015.

Lynda Voltz has also been promoted, taking the number of women in Labor’s shadow cabinet to nine – the highest number of female front benchers in the state’s political history.

‘The 2015 election saw 20 new and talented MPs elected for Labor to the Parliament,’ Mr Foley said.

‘Having a host of those MPs in shadow cabinet refreshes the front bench and brings a truck load of energy, enthusiasm and a focus on the future,’ he added.

‘This is an energised and refreshed Labor team determined to scrutinise the failures of this government and present a positive alternative to the people of NSW.

‘I am proud to have nine talented women in shadow cabinet who will all be Ministers in the next Labor Government.

‘Jihad Dib will bring his experiences as a successful principal to the front bench, leading the development of Labor’s education policy agenda.

‘Ryan Park’s job is to hold Mike Baird and Gladys Berejiklian to account for ripping billions from hospitals and schools and failing to stand up to Canberra to get a fair funding deal for NSW,’ Mr Foley said.

Mr Dib, a highly respected teacher and reforming high school principal, will assume responsibility for the education portfolio.

Ms Car will be Labor’s shadow minister for skills and shadow assistant minister for education, fighting against the Liberal-National decimation of TAFE and vocational education.

Ms Catley takes on innovation and better regulation. Mr Minns will become shadow minister for water. Lynda Voltz has been appointed shadow minister for sport and shadow minister for veterans’ affairs.

Ms Aitchison will be Labor’s shadow minister for the prevention of domestic violence and sexual assault, and the shadow minister for small business.

Ryan Park will move from the transport portfolio into treasury. Newly elected deputy leader Michael Daley will take on shadow minister for planning and infrastructure and shadow minister for gaming and racing.

Jodi McKay will be shadow minister for transport and roads.

Walt Secord adds the arts to his health and north coast portfolios.

Guy Zangari will take responsibility for justice and police.

Labor’s shadow ministry of 22 is now the same size as the Baird Government’s Cabinet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Echonetdaily is made possible by the support of all of our advertisers and is brought to you by this week's sponsors Vast Interior Ballina and NORPA.