13.2 C
Byron Shire
April 23, 2021

Moment of truth for Stu Kennedy as world title decided at Pipeline

Latest News

Tweed Council to write to government for more housing support

With a shortage of affordable housing in most areas of the Far North Coast, it is not surprising that Tweed is also feeling the pinch and Council has declared a housing emergency in the area owing to a lack of availability and affordability.

Other News

Pottsville policing forum asks the hard questions

Members of the Pottsville and Tweed Coast community say that in response to an increase in criminal activity in the area and their request for increased police presence, they were hosting a police presentation at Pottsville.

Cr Keith Williams calls for consultation on South Ballina Beach access

At today's Ballina Council meeting, Cr Keith Williams is going to urge council to write to the NSW Minister for Crown Lands about South Ballina beach, which has recently been closed to public 4WD access.

Pickleball taking off in Ballina

Combining elements of tennis, badminton and table tennis, pickleball is the fastest growing sport in the USA. Recently the 'Ballina Picklers' travelled to Sydney to compete in the NSW Pickleball Championship Open.

Over population

Boyd Kellner, Newrybar ‘Over population’ is seen by some as the main destructive driver causing many crises besetting the planet today. From...

Holiday lets

David Wallace, Suffolk Park The following query was recently sent to NSW Planning Minister Mr Rob Stokes: On Friday, 9 April, 2021,...

Understand climate?

Peter Olson, Goonengerry Have you noticed it getting a bit chilly at night recently? Do you think we will have a...

Matt Wilkinson is looking for a big Pipeline show this week: Photo Cestari/WSL

Crystal Cylinders

Byron Bay’s Matt Wilkinson and Lennox Head’s Stu Kennedy are preparing to surf at the Billabong Pipe Masters, which is the final event for 2017 and features a four-way World Title Showdown.

Unfortunately neither of our local pro surfers is involved in the showdown that will feature John John Florence, Gabriel Medina, Jordy Smith and Julian Wilson.

Matt Wilkinson can improve his current sixth-place ranking and possibly finish in the top five if he can get past round three; after his win in Fiji he should carry confidence into his Pipe campaign.

For Kennedy this could be his last competition at the top level as only a win at Pipe could save him from relegation.

John John Florence remains the current Jeep Leader, giving him the edge over the others.

Florence and Median are the red hot favourites with Smith and Wilson outside chances.

The equation

If John John makes the final of the Billabong Pipe Masters he wins the 2017 World Title.

If Gabriel Medina wins the event, he’ll win the World Title if Florence finishes no better than third.

If Florence gets ninth, Medina can clinch the Title with a finals appearance.

Jordy Smith can do the same with a win.

If John John gets 13th or 25th, Medina just needs a fifth to clinch the Title, Smith a second, and Julian a win.


The Lennox Longboarders wrapped up another successful year with their Christmas Party and Club Presentation, club secretary Wayne Booth said.

‘Another great club night, great venue and of course a great Santa showup, Steve O’Neill, always a great Santa display, the bike riding around Williams Reserve a classic and music from Chris Ashdown, top DJing. Ta from everyone’.

Eleanor Robertson won  the longboard from Amos Shapes, and was named ladies champion. Runner-up Terry Kay.

Club champion: Aaron Smith, Nathan Mckenzie second.

Mens encouragement, Will Petrie.

Ladies encouragement,  Adele Purbrick.

Mens rookie, Bevan Armstrong.

Ladies rookie, Heather Reynolds.

Club Sponsor, Mobile Plumbing, Lennox Head.

Club person of 2017,  Wayne Booth.

Support The Echo

Keeping the community together and the community voice loud and clear is what The Echo is about. More than ever we need your help to keep this voice alive and thriving in the community.

Like all businesses we are struggling to keep food on the table of all our local and hard working journalists, artists, sales, delivery and drudges who keep the news coming out to you both in the newspaper and online. If you can spare a few dollars a week – or maybe more – we would appreciate all the support you are able to give to keep the voice of independent, local journalism alive.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Simon Richardson steps down as Byron Shire Mayor

In an eventful day for Byron Shire Council, pot-stirrer Fast Buck$ was ejected from the council chambers yesterday and later Cr Simon Richardson announced that he will be stepping down as mayor from the end of next week.

Pay parking for Lennox Head?

Yesterday's Ballina Shire Council meeting saw councillors raise the spectre of paid parking at Lennox Head, and possibly elsewhere in the shire.

They will not be forgotten…

In the wake of the pandemic restrictions, ANZAC Day will be commemorated in a COVID safe fashion and some areas will ask residents to...

East Ballina Lions desperately needs new members

East Ballina Lions Club has given over thirty years of service to numerous community programs and initiatives, but if it doesn't get more members soon, it will have to close.