18.3 C
Byron Shire
September 27, 2022

De Souza rings the Bell

Latest News

This league of pets are super

The best things about the school holidays are the awesome films created for kids, and a great film for...

Other News

Mystery of the gospel

The word gospel means ‘good news’, and I wondered why with so many people seemingly doomed forever. Can you...

West Byron flooding

All east coast communities are now daily regularly warned by the ABC radio/TV, by the Bureau of Meteorology, to...

Wahlburgers in Byron

Walking into Wahlburgers on Sunday arvo, the sun was shining, the staff were smiling, there was a nice vibe...

Monty’s: strawberries and insanity

‘Strawberries are insanely amazing,’ I hear Dave (‘Monty’) tell one customer. Regarding his punnets – three sizes, family, medium,...

Time is up for business as usual on biodiversity

The North Coast Environment Council says it’s about time we had a Prime Minister who understands there is a biodiversity crisis and who is prepared to make a public global commitment to reversing biodiversity loss.

Get your sculpture ideas in by Sept 30

The Ingenuity Small Sculpture Prize is seeking entries by September 30 from Northern Rivers artists with $6,000 worth of prizes up for grabs.


Adriano De Souza of Sao Paulo, Brazil, lifts the iconic Bell trophy after winning the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach over American surfer Nat Young on Monday. De Souza is the first Brazilian man ever to win the prestigious Bell and has jumped to World No 4 on the ASP World Rankings. Photo ASP–Kirstin Scholtz


Adriano de Souza has become the first Brazilian man to win the Rip Curl Pro presented by Ford, downing American tour rookie Nat Young in the final staged in 3–5 foot waves at Bells Beach, Victoria. Event No 2 of 10 on the 2013 ASP World Championship Tour (WCT), the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach, culminated after an epic Easter swell saw the event finish with five days still remaining in the waiting period.

De Souza, 26, held the lead throughout a closely fought final at the iconic Victorian surf break, winning 16.26 points to 15.83. It capped one of the greatest days in the history of Brazilian surfing and came four years after compatriot Silvana Lima won the women’s title at Bells. It was a perfect end to the Brazilian storm that blasted Bells this Easter. Between them, De Souza and his compatriots took down the three top seeds, which opened up the draw for an unpredictable result and shortened the ratings odds.

An emotional De Souza said the win was a dream come true after he rang the Bell Trophy so hard it broke.

De Souza’s win today vaults the young South American ASP WCT No 4 heading into the third event on tour in Brazil. It was de Souza’s fourth elite level victory and his first in Australia.

Young, the rookie goofy footer from California’s Santa Cruz, posted a career best result today, wowing spectators and competitors alike with his run to the finals. Young’s runner-up finish today pushes him to No 5, tied with reigning ASP World Champion Joel Parkinson, on the ASP WCT.

Young ended Australian interest in the Rip Curl Pro by beating Taj Burrow in the semifinals.

The twenty-one year old, who was named after Australian surfing legend and four times Bells champion Nat Young, downed Burrow 15.10 to 13.43 in the first semi on Tuesday.

Young said the Australian leg had been amazing.

Taj Burrow, perennial ASP World Title threat, continued his blistering Bells Beach run this morning against compatriot Kai Otton in the quarterfinals before coming up short to Young in their semifinal bout. Burrow said coming so close was tough.

South Africa’s Jordy Smith consistently notched up high scoring rides. The powerful South African’s run was ended, however, in the semifinals at the hands of De Souza.

Though disappointed Smith said it felt good to find form again.

Defending champion Mick Fanning was eliminated in the quarterfinals of the Rip Curl Pro by de Souza. The Brazilian clinched the victory in the final minute of the half-hour heat with his second scoring wave of 7.00 points. He won with a combined score of 14.33 to 13.76 for Fanning, a two time world champion. Fanning’s demise came a day after the other two major drawcards, 11 time world champ Kelly Slater and defending world title holder Joel Parkinson, were eliminated in the third round.

Highlights from the 2013 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach will be available via www.live.ripcurl.com.

The next stop on the 2013 ASP World Championship Tour (WCT) will be the Billabong Rio Pro from May 8 to 19, 2013.

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com.



1 – Adriano de Souza (BRA) 16.26
2 – Nat Young (USA) 15.83



SF 1: Nat Young (USA) 15.10 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 13.43

SF 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 18.44 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 18.40



QF 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) 15.50 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 14.50

QF 2: Nat Young (USA) 17.27 def. Willian Cardoso (BRA) 14.83

QF 3: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 14.33 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 13.76

QF 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 16.77 def. Filipe Toledo (BRA) 13.20


CURRENT ASP WCT TOP 5 (Following Completion of Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach):

1. Kelly Slater (USA) 11,750 pts

2. Mick Fanning (AUS) 11,700 pts

2. Taj Burrow (AUS) 11,700 pts

4. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 10,500 pts

5. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 9,750 pts

5. Nat Young (USA) 9,750 pts



Support The Echo

Keeping the community together and the community voice loud and clear is what The Echo is about. More than ever we need your help to keep this voice alive and thriving in the community.

Like all businesses we are struggling to keep food on the table of all our local and hard working journalists, artists, sales, delivery and drudges who keep the news coming out to you both in the newspaper and online. If you can spare a few dollars a week – or maybe more – we would appreciate all the support you are able to give to keep the voice of independent, local journalism alive.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Venice: Infinitely Avante-Garde

Come on your own Grand Tour of Venice next Wednesday at Byron Theatre. Explore the historic city and its openness to the world, and...

Byron Music Society’s Big Sing

Byron Music Society presents ‘A German Requiem by Johannes Brahms’ (Ein Deutsches Requiem), recognised as one of the greatest choral works ever written, at...

Wahlburgers in Byron

Walking into Wahlburgers on Sunday arvo, the sun was shining, the staff were smiling, there was a nice vibe and from our table we...

Caper Byron – it’s going to be food bliss!

Caper Byron Bay; Our Food and Culture Festival has launched their first program, inclusive of more than 30 diverse events and experiences.  Across a four-day...