21.7 C
Byron Shire
January 18, 2022

A changing guard in seat of Tweed

Latest News

The earliest unequivocally modern human remains in Africa

There may be earlier remains of modern humans – but science is certain about these ones.

Other News

Northern NSW Local Health District COVID update for January 14

The Northern NSW Local Health District reports that to 8pm last night, January 13, there were 905 new cases of COVID-19 confirmed in the District – this figure does not include positive rapid antigen tests (RAT) for the reporting period.

The new mayor

Ben Franklin’s glowing endorsement of our new Mayor, Michael Lyon, is something to be concerned about. Lyon was a...

Northern Rivers closing in on 1,000 daily COVID-19 cases

There were 962 COVID positive cases of COVID-19 confirmed in the Northern NSW Health District in the 24 hours up to 8pm 11 January.

No by-elections during this Tweed Council term

Tuesday's Tweed Council meeting's second order of business was to decide if a by-election should take place if a councillor could not continue in their elected role. 

Lismore’s Australia Day Ambassadors

Ahead of the Australia Day celebrations Olympians Kaarle McCulloch and Kevin Chavez have been announced as Lismore’s 2022 Australia Day Ambassadors.

776 cases of COVID-19 in the Northern Rivers in last 24 hours

There’s no shortage of positive COVID-19 cases in the Northern NSW Health District with the current count likely to be an underestimation of the numbers due to the overwhelmed testing capacity.

The electoral district of Tweed.
The electoral district of Tweed.

The seat of Tweed has been a hard-fought battleground for Labor and the incumbent Nationals for the past 16 years.

Up till then (1999), when it was the electorate of Murwillumbah,  it was yet another  conservative north coast bastion, held by a string of Nationals or Country Party members.

Sitting MP Geoff Provest (Nationals) was voted into power in the 2007 election when it was deemed a marginal seat against Labor’s Neville Newell, a former local teacher, who faced a backlash from his government’s axing of the Casino-Murwillumbah rail service the previous year.

In the 2011 election, Mr Provest, a former Tweed Heads club manager, boosted his margin when he was re-elected on the back of corruption scandals involving Labor MPs, with a thumping 62.1 per cent of the primary vote.

Labor’s Reece Byrnes, who became the party’s candidate after the retirement of the two-term MP Mr Newell, received 21.4 per cent of the primary vote in the last election, while the Greens Andrea Vickers, who is running again this year, received 14 per cent.

This time around challenging Mr Provest is Labor’s Ron Goodman, a former manager of a Tweed newspaper, and the Greens’ Andrea Vickers, hoping to boost her share of the primary vote from last time.

Around 42,000 total votes were counted for the seat last election and this year, around 53,379 voters were enrolled as at February, from a total population reaching 90,000.

The Tweed district seat was first created in 1894 when NSW was still a colony. It was abolished in 1904, three years after Federation, and reincarnated as part of the surrounding seat of Byron till 1988 when that seat was split into the seats of Murwillumbah and Ballina after a population boost in the two areas.

The sea changers/retirees continued to boost the number of voters in the area, and in 1999 the seat was reincarnated as Tweed, with Newell winning and keeping it for two terms till 2007.

In its first incarnation, its parliamentary member was John Willard (Labor), but only for a year (1894-1894).

The then Protectionist party’s Joseph Kelly was elected to serve from 1894-1898, before Richard Denis Meagher, an Independent, was elected in 1898 and served until 1904.

The Protectionist party had strong support in rural NSW and the sheep farming districts of Victoria. Australia’s first two PMs, Edmund Barton and Alfred Deakin, were members of the Protectionists.

The seat, still known as Byron, was then held firmly in the grip of the Country Party, and Tweed Valley grazier/businessman Don Beck held it for the Nationals from 1984 till it was abolished in 1988. He replaced previous member, Jack Boyd, a respected longtime MP for the Country Party.

When Byron was split, Beck, who had served two terms as a Tweed shire councillor before entering state politics, nominated and won the new seat of Murwillumbah which he held for 11 further years from 1988 till it was abolished in 1999.

Beck then contested Tweed, basically a reconfigured version of his old seat, till his defeat at hands of Neville Newell.

In 2013 an electoral-boundary redistribution changed the seat’s configuration and it now contains parts of the former Lismore district.

The rural seat of Tweed stretches from the NSW-Queensland border in the north to Crabbes Creek in the south, and from the Tweed Valley Way in the west to the coast in the east.

It also includes the townships of Tweed Heads and Kingscliff as well as coastal villages Fingal Head, Chinderah, Cudgen, Bogangar, Pottsville and Burringbar.

All NSW Election 2015 Articles

More NSW Election 2015 news and articles

Support The Echo

Keeping the community together and the community voice loud and clear is what The Echo is about. More than ever we need your help to keep this voice alive and thriving in the community.

Like all businesses we are struggling to keep food on the table of all our local and hard working journalists, artists, sales, delivery and drudges who keep the news coming out to you both in the newspaper and online. If you can spare a few dollars a week – or maybe more – we would appreciate all the support you are able to give to keep the voice of independent, local journalism alive.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

The Greens launch NurseKeeper for nurses and paramedics

The Greens have written to the Premier to ask him to immediately introduce ‘NurseKeeper’ to urgently introduce pandemic pay and bonuses for nurses and paramedics. 

Lung specialist ‘we’re doing the best we can’ and Hazzard lays it on the line for the unvaccinated

At this morning's COVID-19 update press conference, Concord and Nepean Hospitals lung specialist Dr Lucy Morgan gave an update on COVID-19. Dr Morgan says she works as part of a team of people looking after patients with COVID.

Lismore’s Australia Day Ambassadors

Ahead of the Australia Day celebrations Olympians Kaarle McCulloch and Kevin Chavez have been announced as Lismore’s 2022 Australia Day Ambassadors.

Northern Rivers Animal Services needs helpers

Ballina-based animal welfare organisation Northern Rivers Animal Services Inc is on the lookout for cat-lovers to help at their cat cottage, and foster carers for both dogs and cats.